Springfield Catholic Charities

Serves Sangamon, Menard, Christian, Morgan, Scott and Cass counties

Area Director: Mark Buttell buttell_spfld@cc.dio.org
Administrative Assistant: Christina Lance

120 S. 11th St.
Springfield, IL 62703
(217) 523-4551
Fax: (217) 523-5624




St. Clare's Health Clinic

St. Clare's_sm.jpg

Supervisor: Janet Kreher

700 N. 7th St.
Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 523-1474

E-mail: stclares@cc.dio.org


St. John's Breadline

St. John's Breadline.JPG

Supervisor: Shawna Harris
Assistant Supervisor: Linda Freer

430 N. 5th St.
Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 528-6098
E-mail: sharris_stjb@cc.dio.org


$20,000 Raffle Winner Announced

Posted on April 14, 2016

The Catholic Charities Mobile Food Pantry (MFP) program started in 2013 with two refrigerated trucks based out of the Effingham and Madison County Catholic Charities offices.



Toy Store Shopping

Dec 15th 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Toy Store Shopping

Local Services

St. John's Breadline: Operating in Springfield since 1925, our Breadline serves nearly 600 meals a day at no charge to low income and homeless individuals in our community. Meals are available Monday-Friday 8:00-10:00 a.m. and 2:00-4:00 p.m. Sat/Sun/Holidays 10:30-1:30 p.m.

St. Clare's Health Clinic: Preventative and basic health care is provided to families in Springfield who could not otherwise afford it. Includes physicals, dental services, vision exams and glasses, and hearing and vision screenings. All services by appointment only.

Holy Family Food Pantry: Our staff serves the nutritional needs of families by helping with immediate problems and searching for future solutions. Donations of food, time and money are necessary in order to respond to local hunger. Mon/Wed/Fri 8:30-12:00 p.m.

Mobile Food Pantry: Through this hunger relief effort, a refrigerated truck delivers a two-week supply of food to pre-registered individuals and families in rural communities. The MFP Program strives to deliver food to at least one rural community per month.

Catholic Charities Legal Services: This community-based, quality legal services program helps people with little to no income in obtaining pro bono legal assistance in civil matters.

Intact Family Services: This program's goal is to keep troubled families together by offering them intense case management and education in parenting, and linking them with related services in their communities. All clients must be referred through DCFS.

Crisis Assistance & Advocacy Office: We provide emergency financial assistance for rent and utilities, as well as providing basic necessities including food, medicine, and clothing. As part of a close-knit network of community agencies, we refer people for help when we are unable to assist with a particular need. Office hours Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30 p.m. or by appointment.

Advisory Board Members

John Blean Marlyn Shaughnessy Debby Coe, President Dan Wright Cliff Erwin, Secretary
Doug Mauntel, Finance Officer Michael Greenwood Kate Baker Andy Rathsack, Vice President  Tom Walters
Louis Geitl III Rosiland Dennis